You learn something everyday, if you pay attention

Discovering that its rained 3 feet of water and your car is sunken into a field that masquerades as a car park ( good old NHS staff parking) makes for an interesting afternoon. Tentatively I got into the car and willed it to move but predictably ramming my foot hard to the accelerator didn’t bring the desired results.

images.jpeg

 

Several minutes of wheel spinning and I was going nowhere. How appropriate I thought, once again my stubbornness and blinkered approach is not actually getting me closer to my goal!  The harder I pushed, the less I was moving. After some more sliding back and forth I recalled that there was a sheet of tarpaulin in the car boot. And I decided trying to get it under the wheels could maybe get me moving.  After a bit of a fight with a sheet of fabric the size of a large gazebo in gale force winds and rain, I was ready to give getting out of the bog another go. A quick look in the rear view mirror revealed I wouldn’t be needing my nightly mudpack, or a spray tan. I was sure my husband would be as impressed with the mud encrusted steering wheel and handprints on the dashboard as I was with having to impersonate a mud runner contestant. Maybe I should try an Ironman next.

Unknown-1.jpeg

Success! A few hairy slides and a narrow miss with a fiesta and I was free. Hooray! Now I could scoop up the 8 foot square tarpaulin which was no longer blue and fold it neatly. This was an interesting exercise as the wind had other ideas. Had it not been lashing with rain I would have been hot and bothered but a combination of sideways rain and dripping mud was quite cooling. As I fought with the giant blue/brown sheet, untangling myself, I mused how this must be what a mud wrap beauty treatment must be like. Or maybe not.

Every day life gives us lessons from which we can chose to learn or simply ignore as annoying inconveniences.

Unknown.jpeg

Leave a Reply

